The reign of Astralis continues – Flawless performance in the ELEAGUE Premier 2018

Astralis @ ELEAGUE Premier 2018

Team Liquid still wasn’t able to beat the world’s best Counter-Strike team. Astralis, who were silver medalists in last year’s ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier, played a flawless tournament and got another trophy for their headquarters. Total winnings of the Danish team that was founded in 2016 are now just shy of 3.5 million dollars.

Before the finale, Astralis eliminated Mousesports in the first semi-final series by winning 2-0. The home team, Team Liquid did the same to Natus Vincere, and played an amazing tournament as a whole. The only times they weren’t able to emerge as winners were those when they were up against Astralis. These losses take nothing away from their success, especially when noting the fact that Astralis didn’t lose a single one of the eight games they played.

The home crowd thus had every reason to keep cheering through the entire week of Counter-Strike action in Atlanta, USA. Although the other home teams, Cloud9 and MIBR were eliminated early, Team Liquid kept the crowd hopeful. When the finale kicked off in Inferno on Sunday, the reality hit everyone who might’ve doubted Astralis in the face. Astralis steamrolled to a 14-0 lead before finally Liquid retaliated. The home team picked up five rounds in total, but the mountain was too steep to climb even for Liquid, and Astralis soon cut their climb short with a 16-5 score.

Nuke, as picked by Astralis, was up next. Liquid managed to finally pull themselves together and took the lead right away, but soon after Lukas “gla1ve” Rossander’s 1v3 clutch reminded them how dangerous their opponents were. The gameplay we saw in Nuke was a lot more appriopriate for the Grand Finale, as the teams took turns leading the map. Before the second half, Liquid allowed Astralis to get too many rounds, which left them in a bad spot when they switched to the terrorist side. And as they feared, Astralis took the lead. Fortunately, Liquid had Russel ”Twistzz” Van Dulken and Epitacio ”TACO” de Melo up their sleeve, and once again scored enough rounds to pull ahead. Nuke’s yard was what turned out to be the deciding element. Astralis, and especially Nicolai “dev1ce” Reedtz exterminated Liquid’s players one by one with his AWP, and the game was soon over. Astralis won the third subsequent encounter of the teams in a tournament finale 16-12 and became the new ELEAGUE champions.

ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2018 – Results
1st Astralis $500,000
2nd Team Liquid $200,000
3rd – 4th Mousesports $80,000
Natus Vincere
5th – 6th MIBR $40,000
7 – 8th Cloud9 $30,000
FaZe Clan


ELEAGUE confirmed yesterday their return to Counter-Strike in the beginning of next year. According to a tweet the organization published, the league will start on January 26th.