Counter-Strike’s top teams travel to North America for a million-dollar tournament

ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2018

The top eight Counter-Strike teams in the world, as ranked by HLTV, are heading to North America for this year’s instalment of ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier. The million-dollar tournament takes place in Atlanta, Georgia. Number of participant teams has been cut to half from last year’s 16, so this time the event runs for just over a week, compared to a whole month in 2017. Besides the title, the winning team will receive a whopping $500,000.

Participants include a familiar selection of the world’s best teams: the two home teams, Cloud9 and Team Liquid have been placed to group A, while Astralis and FaZe Clan have been separated into different groups for the ultimate showdown later in playoffs. After a long break, Olof “olofmeister” Kajbjer is finally returning to FaZe Clan’s active rotation, so it’s going to be interesting to see how the team functions without “olofmeister’s” long-time stand-in, Jorgen “cromen” Robertsen. In the absence of “olofmeister”, Robertsen played multiple tournaments for FaZe, the latest of which was ESL One: Cologne.

ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2018 – groups
Group A Group B
Astralis FaZe Clan
Cloud9 Fnatic
Liquid Mousesports
MIBR Natus Vincere


The group stage will be played with double-elimination format from July 21th to 26th, and is followed by the playoff phase on July 28th – 29th. Everything is best of three, except for the grand finale, which has, of course, been extended to a best of five. The tournament kicks off tomorrow when Astralis faces Cloud9 on ELEAGUE’s Twitch channel. Schedule is available on HLTV.